Liberty, Equality, Fraternity, Continuity

 

A plaque in the Wayne State University Undergraduate Library: "Life, Growth, Continuity"

A mosaic in the Wayne State University Undergraduate Library: "Life, Growth, Continuity"

We have reached the end of the highway: I’m going back to New York tomorrow and this shall be the final post of “Borrowed City: A New Yorker Spends a Month in Detroit.”

I hope you’ve enjoyed this as much as I have.  The question, what have we learned today, is probably best left for another time.  In the last week or so I’ve grown nostalgic about my life in New York, and in the process completely forgotten how excited I was a month ago to go to a place that wasn’t so outrageously expensive–seriously, the stress of New York was really killing me this summer.

I’m ready to go back and be reminded of that.  Most likely, it will hit me in the face like an errant 2 by 4.  While I am recovering from the shock, though, I wonder how my memories of Detroit will change.  The city was such an inspiration to me in my 20’s, and, now that I’m in my 30’s and the city seems to have changed just as much as I have, I wonder if Detroit will continue to inspire me the way that it always has, or if a new source of inspiration will emerge. 

One thing that will always fascinate me about Detroit is the way that you can see its past in your visual experience of the city.  New York turns businesses over so rapidly that it takes work sometimes to remember that New York has a past at all, but the continuity between Detroit’s present and the different phases of its history is evident everywhere.  As far as my own growth as a person is concerned, I’m going to work as hard as I can to preserve the continuity between this moment, right now, writing this blog post in Cass Cafe, and wherever I end up in the future, forever.

~ by electrorefutedrobo on August 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
